Hospitalists Win Prestigious Quality Award

The Society of Hospital Medicine-a Philadelphia-based national association representing hospitalists-is the winner of the 2011 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award for Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level. The Society is the first national medical association to win the award, which was established in 2002 by The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum in memory of John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA. In its March announcement of the award, the Society describes three “signature” mentoring programs that couple hospital teams with physician champions in order to improve outcomes at the local level. These include Project BOOST, which is focused on reducing 30-day readmissions at 110 hospitals; the Glycemic Control Mentored Implementation Program, which aims to prevent hypoglycemia at 115 hospitals; and the Venous Thromboembolism Prevention Collaborative, now underway at 71 institutions. For more information on the Society’s quality improvement initiatives, visit